top of page

Cross-Training


After completing two marathons and seven half-marathons, I have learned key components that help make training a success – eating right, getting enough sleep and cross-training. I am currently training for my third marathon, and there are days where I feel like my body is taking a beating. It’s hard and requires hours of work, but for me, it is worth it all in the end. There are weeks of training when I am running 5 days in a row; some miles are much longer than others. For me though, it doesn’t matter how many days I am running because I make sure to cross-train at least three days a week. I used to be a runner who thought strength training was not needed, but I learned that it is key to a successful race.

My weekly training schedule consists of three different workouts: Running, of course, full body strength training and swimming. I have recently just gotten back in the pool and the difference it has made is unbelievable. I am not a professional swimmer, but I did swim for my high school team from 2010-2012. I loved it then just as much as I love it now. It is by far one of the best workouts for my body because I am giving my legs a break from the constant pounding on the concrete. Plus, you do not sweat!

My swim workouts usually range from forty-five minutes to an hour. It depends on the day, time and what else I have to do for my workouts. My workouts tend to focus on my endurance, speed and upper body strength. I try and get to the pool for a swim at least three times a week. I especially enjoy swimming the day before my longer runs; it is a great way to keep my muscles warm.

Here is one of my typical workouts I follow:

  • Warm Up – 250 Freestyle, 250 Pull

  • Sets 1 – 100 x 5 Freestyle Sprint with 15 seconds of rest

  • Set 2 – 100 x 6 Pull with FINIS Hand Paddles, 100 Freestyle Sprint with FINIS Flippers (alternating)

  • Set 3 – 100 x 6 Breast Stroke, 100 Freestyle Sprint (alternating)

  • Cool Down – 150 Pull, 150 Freestyle

Total: 2,500 Yards

Thanks to my new FINIS swim gear, completing my swim workouts have gotten easier to track and have made me stronger. The gear that I use includes Flippers, Hand Paddles, a Snorkel, and the amazing SwimsenseLive Watch. I love the hand paddles and flippers. It is an extra addition to the sets I do when I work on arm strengthening and speed. I do use the snorkel every now and then, but I like to focus on my breathing for endurance purposes when I am in the pool so workouts with my snorkel is every so often. The best thing I have is my SwimsenseLive watch which connects to the SwimsenseLive App where I can see the improvement I am making after each workout. I am a person who forgets which lap I am on and how far I have swam. This watch tracks the distance, calories, speed, and even specific details for different strokes. I am so beyond thankful for this handy watch when I am in the pool!

If you want to get back into swimming and are interested in new swim gear, I suggest checking out FINIS Swim. They have awesome products that will help continue to make your swimming workouts amazing or help you get started!!

You can also use my discount code for 20% off your entire purchase: whole30marissa

Visit their site: http://www.finisinc.com/


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Story 

Three years ago I was told I was cancer free and I decided to start living a healthy lifestyle. Now, I am a whole new person who is living a whole new life!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page