top of page

Summer Runs

Summer 2016 has been a different summer for me because my fitness level is at the best level I have ever been at. When summer began, I had just finished training for the Chasing Jefferson Davis Marathon. This marathon was at the beginning of May in GA, so the temperature was in the lower 60's in the morning and upper 70's towards the end of the race. My pace was great and I never felt like I was running in the beginning of summer.

After that marathon, I continued to run longer runs (10-13 miles) for a few weekends and then the heat hit. Running 12 miles was easy, until June hit and then it felt like I had never run 12 miles before. I had to quickly drop my miles and stay away from the longer runs because I was overheating and beginning to feel sick during and after these runs. I continued to run throughout summer and every time I stepped out the front door, I felt like my pace was getting worse.

I would look at my watch during simple runs and see that the pace I was holding was around an 8:30. This pace is very slow for me because I had trained hard to be able to hold a 7:40 for a full 26 miles. It was defeating and it almost made running feel like it was not worth it.

Today, August 9, 2016, I got out for a 7 mile run. My legs felt great and every time I looked down at my watch, my pace was under 8 minutes. I was excited to see my finishing time around my normal 7 mile time. I no longer felt defeated by the heat.

From someone who loves to run and would choose to go outside and run for hours over lots of things, running in the summer time is a hard task to get up and do. The heat drains you and it does it quickly. My advice is to keep running and do not let your pace defeat you.

In the summer, you should expect your pace to drop and to feel more tired than normal. Make sure to drink plenty of water before and after your runs. Also make sure you are fueling with the correct foods. Proper nutrition can play a huge role in any of your runs, the heat or the cold. Your body needs the right fuel in order to perform at its best!

Just remember do not give up and keep going! Running is similar to life, it is hard at times, but eventually, you figure out what works and you make it easier for yourself :)

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Story 

Three years ago I was told I was cancer free and I decided to start living a healthy lifestyle. Now, I am a whole new person who is living a whole new life!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page